Print from today onwards

Monday 01 January - Sunday 07 January

Monday 08 January

Pre-season rugby (boys) and netball (girls) course (9.30 a.m. – 12.30 p.m.)

Details below in Read More

Tuesday 09 January

Pre-season rugby (boys) and netball (girls) course (9.30 a.m. – 12.30 p.m.

Full details in Read More below

SLT meeting (10.00 a.m.)

Wednesday 10 January

Pre-season rugby (boys) and netball (girls) course (9.30 a.m. – 12.30 p.m.)

Details in Read More

Staff meeting (1.30 p.m.)

Full boarders return

Thursday 11 January

Senior School day pupils return for registration 8.15 a.m

Ridge House pupils return

Ballet begins

Golf coaching begins

Speech and Drama begins

Music lessons start with Mrs Evans (violin, piano), Mr Mead (drums), Mrs Richards (piano) and Mr Saunders (vocal)

Please note that all groups, choirs and the theory club will not start until next week, except for the Senior Orchestra which will be rehearsing on Friday 12th January from 5.20pm to 6.40pm with supper in between

Friday 12 January

Boarders’ start of term meeting (8.45 a.m. - 9.30 a.m.)

Music lessons start with Mrs McMurtrie (cello) and Mr Gwilt (clarinet, saxophone) 

Music lessons start with Mrs Hastings (Mrs Hastings will be taking on most of the pupils previously taught by Mrs Cowan)

Please note that all groups, choirs and the theory club will not start until next week, except for the Senior Orchestra which will be rehearsing on Friday 12th January from 5.20pm to 6.40pm with supper in between

Extra Swimming Lessons for less confident swimmers

Details in Read More or here

Boarders’ team building activity (6.45 p.m. - 7.30 p.m.)

Saturday 13 January

Art Workshop: Oil Painting

 (1.00 - 4.00 p.m.)

Saturday School (Forms 1 – 3) and Saturday Club (Forms 4 – 7 optional) 9.00 a.m. – 12.30 p.m.

Junior Swimming Training

Boarders’ Night Hike (7.00 p.m.)

Sunday 14 January

Boarders’ visit to Hampshire Outdoor Centre for caving and indoor climbing

Art Workshop (10.00 a.m. - 4.00 p.m.)

Oil Painting

Monday 15 January

11+ Common Entrance (certain pupils only)
Riding lessons begin

Rota available in school

Tennis begins
Metro Bank, Newbury Finance and Economics course for Forms 4 and 5
Music lessons with Mrs Ashworth (oboe, flute, recorder) start today
Music lessons start with Mrs Sheppard (violin) and Mr Beckwith (piano)

Tuesday 16 January

11+ Common Entrance (certain pupils only)

Form 6 visit to Highclere Castle

Form 6 visit to Highclere Castle. Full details and opt-out instructions

Judo begins

Golf coaching starts

Clay-pigeon shooting (Group 1) lessons begin

Music lessons start with Mr Laurie (drums), Miss Parrish (piano), Mr Vivian (brass)

Wednesday 17 January

11+ and 13+ Downe House Scholarship Examinations (certain pupils only)

Rugby v Sherfield School

U12 A XII & U13A XII (A)

Rugby v St Edward’s

U10A & B (H)

U11 A & B (A)

Thursday 18 January

11+ and 13+ Downe House Scholarship Examinations (certain pupils only)

Open lesson for Ballet Form 7 and Ridge House (Parents welcome to watch ballet lessons today in the Great Hall)

Clay-pigeon shooting (Group 2) lessons begin

Friday 19 January

Service for The Epiphany in Marlston Church 8.40 a.m

11+ and 13+ Downe House Scholarship Examinations (certain pupils only)

General Studies Programme (6.45 p.m. – 7.30 p.m.)

Saturday 20 January

Saturday School (Forms 1 – 3) and Saturday Club (Forms 4 – 7 optional) 9.00 a.m. – 12.30 p.m.

Junior Swimming Training

Sunday 21 January

Boarders’ go ice skating

Golf Competition at Cheam (A) (Cancelled by Cheam due to the poor weather conditions)

Monday 22 January

13+ Common Entrance (certain pupils only)

Form 5 visit Metro Bank Newbury for Finance and Economics course (9 - 12.00 p.m.) (Details)

Master Chef competition (closing date for entries)

Music lessons start with Mr Yates (guitar, ukele)

Form 3 Three Musketeers read through. 4.00 p.m. to 5.50 p.m.

Tuesday 23 January

13+ Common Entrance (certain pupils only)

Form 8 trip to Newbury Station (details)

Wednesday 24 January

13+ Common Entrance (certain pupils only)

Rugby v St Andrew’s

U12A XII, U12/13 C XII, U10 A & B VIII (H)

U13A XIII, U11 A & B,  U9 A & B VII  (A)

Netball v Lambrook

U12/13 A, B, C & D (A)

U11 A, B, C  (H)

U10 A & B  (A)

All girls matches are cancelled due to poor weather apart from the U12/13 A and B who will be playing indoors at Lambrook

Form 5 Parents’ Meetings (4.30 p.m. - 6.00 p.m.) (Details)

Thursday 25 January

13+ Common Entrance (certain pupils only)

Form 3 Three Musketeers adapted by Ian Murchie. Rehearsals day

Form 4 visit Metro Bank Newbury for Finance and Economics course (9 - 12.00 p.m.) (Details)

Swimming Gala v Cranford House

U8 Girls 4.00 p.m

No golf lesson today

Friday 26 January

Netball v Lambrook
U9 A, B & C (H) (U9 matches cancelled by Lambrook)
U8 A & B (A)

Form 3 Three Musketeers adapted by Ian Murchie. Performance for parents 4.30 p.m. (PAC)

Leave Away Weekend begins at 6.00 p.m.

Saturday 27 January

Art Workshop: Photography (1.00 - 4.00 p.m.)

(details in Read More)

(Team Sheet)

Sunday 28 January

Boarders’ visit to Windsor Castle

Art Workshop; Photography (10.00 am.m - 4.00 p.m.)

Art Workshop: Photography (10.00 - 4.00 p.m.)

Details in Read More

Leave Away Weekend ends at normal bedtime

Monday 29 January

1st semi-final of the Master Chef competition (6.30 p.m. - 8.30 p.m.)

Tuesday 30 January

No golf lesson today

Theatre Club trip to The Watermill to see Teddy at 7.30 p.m.

Wednesday 31 January

Rugby Triangular v Daneshill & Crosfields

U13A XIII, U12/13 XII (H)

U11B (A) at Crosfields

U10 A & C (A) at Daneshill

Hearing screening tests (from 9.15 a.m.)

Rugby v Crosfields

U12 A XI (H)

U11A, U10 B (A)

Prior Park Netball Tournament

U13A (A) 1.30 p.m.

Netball v Chandlings

U11 A & B (A)

U10 A, B & C (H)

Form 3 Parents’ Meetings in the Great Hall (5.00 p.m. – 7.00 p.m.)

Thursday 01 February

Swimming Gala V Crosfields

U11 - U13 Girls and Boys (A) 4pm

Newbury Netball League v St Finians U10 A (H) (Cancelled)

No golf lesson today

Friday 02 February

Rugby Triangular v St Edward's and  St Andrews

U9 A & B VII at St Edward's (Sulhamstead Cricket Club -  Jack's Booth Ground, Bath Road, Reading RG7 5HP​.)

U9C VI v St Andrew's (H) (Cancelled)

U8 A & B VII (H)

Netball v St Neot’s and Daneshill

U9 A & B (A) at St Neot's

U8A (H) (Cancelled by St Neot's)

Boarders’ Evensong for Candlemas in Marlston Church (6.30 p.m.)

BMR Quiz Night (7.30 p.m. for 8.00 p.m.) Parents and friends warmly welcome.

Saturday 03 February

Saturday School (Forms 1 – 3) and Saturday Club (Forms 4 – 7 optional) 9.00 a.m. – 12.30 p.m.

Junior Swimming Training

Details in Read More

Sunday 04 February

Boarders visit Ski Plex

Art Workshop (10.00 a.m. - 4.00 p.m.)

Silk (10.00 a.m. - 4.00 p.m.) Details in Read More

Monday 05 February

2nd semi-final of the Master Chef competition (6.30 p.m.- 8.30 p.m.)

Reception visit the Winchester Science Centre (details)

Tuesday 06 February

Safer Internet Day sessions with Tim Emery, Thames Valley Police Schools Liaison Officer

Wednesday 07 February

Rugby v Sunningdale

U12/13 A XII, U10A (A)

U12/13 B & C XII, U11B, U9A (H)

U11A Boundary Oak Sevens Tournament 1 - 4.30pm. (A)

Netball v Eagle House

U12/13 A & B (A)

U12/13 C, D & E (H)

Form 4 Parents’ Meetings (5.00 p.m. - 7.00 p.m.) in the Great Hall

[Time adjusted following positive feedback when the time was similarly changed the previous week] 

Thursday 08 February

Form 4 French Breakfast (10.30 - 11.10 a.m.)

Swimming Gala v Crosfields

U8 - U10 Girls and Boys (H) 4.30 p.m.

Progress Reports

Friday 09 February

3.00 p.m. in the Performing Arts Centre

Form 8 trip to Swindon Steam Museum (details)

Half Term begins at 6.00 p.m.

Sunday 18 February

Half Term ends at normal bedtime

Monday 19 February

No events scheduled for today

Tuesday 20 February

Early swimming today is only for the IAPS team

Final of the Master Chef competition (5.00 - 9:00 p.m.)

Wednesday 21 February

Service for the beginning of Lent

Boys’ Rugby v Horris Hill & Daneshill

U13A & B XIII at Horris Hill

U12A, B XII  & U10B (H)

U10A & U11A at Daneshill

Netball v The Oratory Prep School - all girls matches have been cancelled

U12/13 A & B, U10 A & B (A)

U11 A, B & C (H)

Form 1NP and 2BG Parents Evening 6.30 - 8.30 p.m.

Thursday 22 February

In2Hockey Berkshire Hockey Tournament

U12/13 A (A) St Mary’s Ascot 11.00 a.m.

IAPS swimming regional round (Round 1) [Brockhurst and Marlston providing venue but are not competing]

Friday 23 February

Declamations: Juniors and Intermediate at 9.30 a.m. (Form 7 - 3 and 2BG) Seniors 11.00 a.m. (Forms 1 and 2) (parents of finalists will be invited)

Rugby v Daneshill

U9 A & B VII (A)

U8 A & B VII (H)

IAPS swimming regional round 3.00 p.m

U10, U11, U12 & U13 girls and boys (H)

General Studies Programme (6.45 p.m. – 7.30 p.m.)

Saturday 24 February

Saturday School (Forms 1 – 3) and Saturday Club (Forms 4 – 7 optional) 9.00 a.m. – 12.30 p.m.

Junior Swimming Training

Form 1 Murder Mystery evening (arrive Saturday 6.00 p.m.; depart Sunday by 9.30 a.m.) For Form 1 Leavers onlyDetails

Art Workshop Pictures in Stitch (1.00 - 4.00 p.m.) CANCELLED

The visiting tutor is indisposed

Sunday 25 February

Boarders’ visit to the cinema

Art Workshop Pictures in Stitch (10.00 a.m. - 4.00 p.m.) CANCELLED

The visiting tutor is indisposed

Monday 26 February

Ridge House Book Week

Newbury Netball League Finals hosted by Marlston House (12.30 - 4.00 p.m.)

What you Will preparation for Form 1W/1NP play 4.00 - 5.50 p.m.

Nursery visit to Bracknell Ice Rink (Details)

Tuesday 27 February

Downe House Day of Musical Theatre

Wednesday 28 February

Netball v St Hugh’s

U13B, U12B, U12/13C (H)

U10C (A)

Netball v Cranford House - Cancelled

U11 A, B & C (H)

U10 A & B (A)

Boys Hockey v Woodcote House

U11 A & B (A)

U13 A & B (H)

Form 2JFM and 2MT Parents Evening 6.30 - 8.30 p.m.

Thursday 01 March

What you Will preparation for Form 1W/1NP play

Cross Country v Thorngrove Boys and Girls

U9 & U11 (A)

French CE Speaking Trials

Friday 02 March

Ridge House Book Character dressing up day

Boys’ Hockey v Magdalen College Junior School

U9 A & B VII (A)

Form 1 (1NP & 1W) play rehearsal all day followed by performance of What you Will at 4.30 p.m.

Leave Away Weekend begins at 6.00 p.m.

Saturday 03 March

Form 4 ‘Weekend at Brockwarts’ boarding event (10.00 a.m.) Details Programme

Sunday 04 March

Form 4 ‘Weekend at Brockwarts’ (Collection at 12.30 p.m.)

Leave Away Weekend ends at normal bedtime

Golf Competition at Cheam School (invitation only)

Monday 05 March

Form 1 Common Entrance trials begin

Tuesday 06 March

Form 6 Mini Concert (3.00 p.m.)

Forms 6, 7, 8 and Foundation Stage parents’ meetings by appointment

(4.00 p.m. to 7.00 p.m.) (details)

Wednesday 07 March

Rugby v Bishopsgate School

1st XII (A)

Prior Park Netball Tournament

U11A (A)

Netball v St Gabriel’s

U11B, U10 A, B & C (A)

U9A & B, U8A (H)

Thursday 08 March

Bradfield Golf Competition (A)

Theatre Club trip to The Watermill to see Digging for Victory at 7.30 pm.

Form 4 trip to Hampton Court Palace (Details and opt out)

Friday 09 March

Ridge House Declamations in the Great Hall (8.45 a.m.)

Form 1 Trip to Blenheim Palace – Public Speaking Workshop

Boys’ Hockey v New College School

U9A & B (A)

U8A & B (H)

Saturday 10 March

OPEN MORNING for prospective parents  10.30 - 12.00 p.m.

(Visitors should arrive by 11.15 a.m. at the latest)

Saturday School (Forms 1 – 3) and Saturday Club (Forms 4 – 7 optional) 9.00 a.m. – 12.30 p.m.

Junior Swimming Training

Form 5 & 6 ‘Big Activity Weekend’ starts at 1.00 p.m.

Art Workshop; 3D Felt Making (1.00 - 4.00 p.m.) CANCELLED

The visiting tutor is indisposed

Sunday 11 March

Form 5 & 6 ‘Big Activity Weekend’ ends at 1.00 p.m.

The visiting tutor is indisposed

Monday 12 March

Ridge House Science week

Form 2 (2JFM, 2MT & 2BG) Around the World in Eighty Days read through 4.00 - 5.50 p.m.

Tuesday 13 March

Debating Society to Blenheim Palace for Public Speaking Competition

Form 2 (1NP and 2BG) visit to Oxford

U10A Newbury Netball League Finals hosted at Marlston House (Teams who qualify only)

Wednesday 14 March

Boys’ Hockey v Horris Hill and Moulsford

U13 A & U11B at Moulsford

U13B (H)

U11A at Horris Hill

Thursday 15 March

Last Judo lesson of the term

Rehearsal Day for the Form 2 Play (2BG, 2JFM and 2MT)

Friday 16 March

Form 2 (2JFM, 2MT & 2BG) rehearsal all day and performance of Around the World in 80 Days at 4.30 p.m.

Form 7 visit the Victorian Classroom at the Museum of Reading

U11 Newbury Netball Tournament at Park House 9.30 a.m.

BMR Uniform Sale in the Great Hall and Drawing Room

Saturday 17 March

U11 Newbury Netball Tournament at Park House 9.30 a.m.

Boarders’ ‘Game-keeper Weekend’ (Details)

Saturday School (Forms 1 – 3) and Saturday Club (Forms 4 – 7 optional) 9.00 a.m. – 12.30 p.m.

Junior Swimming Training

Sunday 18 March

Boarders’ ‘Game-keeper Weekend’

U13 A Small School Rugby Championship, Oundle School, Oundle, Peterborough, PE8 4GH

Monday 19 March

Form 2 (2MT and 2JFM) visit to Oxford

Tuesday 20 March

Last golf coaching session of the term

Theatre Club trip to The Watermill to see The Rivals at 7.30 pm.

Stevensons uniform selling event 3.00 p.m. - 6.00 p.m.

ABRSM examinations

Wednesday 21 March

Girls House Matches

Thursday 22 March

Spring Term Concert 6.30 p.m.

Last Speech and Drama lessons of the term

Friday 23 March

Progress Reports

Mark reading and Prize Giving (pupils only)

Inter House Cross Country 2.15 p.m. (All pupils to attend)

Ridge House Easter Bake Off

Term ends (6.00 p.m.)

Saturday 24 March

School Ski Trip to Sauze d’Oulx departs

Saturday 31 March

School Ski Trip to Sauze d’Oulx returns